Australia ICOMOS President’s Award

Nominations for the 2020 President’s Award are now open!
Nominations close 24 July 2020



The Australia ICOMOS President’s Award recognises the important contribution made by the active engagement of younger and/or emerging heritage practitioners in Australia. ICOMOS already acknowledges experienced heritage professionals with Honorary ICOMOS membership (both national and international). This initiative is to encourage and recognise those earlier on in their career, including heritage practitioners who are not Australia ICOMOS members.

The establishment of the President’s Award was initiated by Elizabeth Vines (President, 2013-2015) and Kerime Danis (President, 2016) and has continued to encourage and support those early on in their career. The award is open to Australia ICOMOS members and non-members, providing the eligibility criteria are met (see below).

There are two categories for the President’s Award:

1.     A student / young / emerging heritage practitioner who has made an outstanding contribution to heritage practice; and

2.     A trainee / apprentice or emerging tradesperson who has made an outstanding contribution to heritage practice.


Nomination Process

Nominations for either category of the Award can be made by the nominee by completing the nomination form and providing the relevant supporting materials, which can include reports, drawings and photographs.

>> Download the Australia ICOMOS President’s Award, 2020 – Information for Nominees

>> Download the Ausutralia ICOMOS President’s Award, 2020 – Nomination Form v2

>> Download the Australia ICOMOS President’s Award 2020 flyer v2


The Award

The judging panel will assess each eligible nomination and for 2020 includes:

  • The current President of Australia ICOMOS: Helen Lardner
  • The immediate past president of Australia ICOMOS: Ian Travers
  • Elizabeth Vines as the founding past president of the Award
  • A heritage professional with experience in the construction industry: Mitch Cleghorn

In each category, the prize includes:

  • $1000 cash
  • Award Certificate 
  • A 1 year Associate membership of Australia ICOMOS (not transferable) is also available for non-members

Please note: the final decision to shortlist any nomination or to confer any award is based on there being nominations of an appropriate standard. The judging panel have the discretion to award a winner and commendation in each category. All decisions and recommendations made by the panel are binding and final and no discussion or correspondence will be entered into.


Eligibility Criteria

In each category the Award is for a young / emerging professional, including students and trainees, who has made an outstanding contribution to heritage practice in Australia, assessed using the following criteria:

  • Demonstrated understanding of the articles of the Australia ICOMOS Burra Charter in planning and delivery
  • Contributing to the best practice conservation of a heritage place or item (or group of places or items), including (but not limited to) projects concerning conservation of built heritage, cultural collections, cultural landscapes, intangible heritage values and terrestrial or maritime archaeological sites
  • Appropriate qualifications or training (commenced or completed) in their chosen field
  • No more than 8 years’ experience in the heritage profession since completion of studies or apprenticeship
  • Enthusiasm and eagerness for their field, demonstrated through attitude and endeavour and as supported by their supervisor
  • Volunteer experience or extra-curricular participation in the heritage sector

Questions? Contact the Australia ICOMOS Secretariat by email.


Click here for the 2016 President’s Award winners

Click here for the 2017 President’s Award winners

Click here for the 2018 President’s Award winners


2020 Promotional material image credits
President’s Awards 2018 winners, (l-r) Elizabeth Vines (former AI President), Kyra Lomas (heritage professional winner), Leigh Doherty (heritage tradesperson winner), Ian Travers (AI President). Courtesy: L. Sturis
Crafting of replacement window frames at Martin Kelly Centre, Wembley WA. Courtesy: Bernard Seeber Pty Architects
Martin Kelly Centre, Wembley WA. Courtesy: Bernard Seeber Pty Architects
Artillery Drill Hall, Fremantle WA. Courtesty: National Trust of Western Australia
Laura Daenke, Paper Conservator. Courtesy: Artlab Australia