‘Our Common Dignity’ Working Group

The ‘Our Common Dignity’ Working Group is comprised of:

Co-convenor: Peter Phillips (email Peter)
Co-convenor: Appointment in progress

Flavia Kiperman (EC Representative)
Bill Boyd*
Elizabeth Bradshaw
Amy Chan
Paul Dignam
Joel Gilman
Laura Gray
Pam Jeffery
William Logan
Silas Piotrowski
Lisa Rogers*
Marilyn Truscott

*not Australia ICOMOS members

Australia was one of three ICOMOS National Committees that have been participating actively in the further development of the ‘Our Common Dignity’ initiative. While led by ICOMOS Norway, this is an international ICOMOS program, based on resolutions at the ICOMOS General Assemblies in 2011 and 2014. The other countries involved in working on case studies and other initiatives are India and South Africa, who, along with Elizabeth Vines (then President of Australia ICOMOS), were the co-signers of the General Assembly resolution put by Norway in 2014.

More information about the ‘Our Common Dignity’ initiative – a joint international program between ICOMOS, IUCN and ICCROM, with a focus on rights-based practices in the World Heritage system and funded by the Government of Norway – can be found at the links below.

This initiative will be mentioned at the 2016 World Heritage Committee (WHC) meeting – more information in the documents below.

At the 2016 WHC meeting, former ICOMOS Vice President Kristal Buckley made a presentation that is based on the Round Table that was held jointly with Deakin University in October 2015 – information about the Round Table can be found here and also by clicking on the links below.