Indigenous Heritage Reference Group

The Indigenous Heritage Reference Group is comprised of:

Convenor (& EC Representative): Anne McConnell (email Anne)

Shaun Canning
David Claudie
Neale Draper
Vanessa Hardy
Sue McIntyre-Tamwoy
Lance Syme
Jo Thomson
Ian Travers
Matthew Whincop

The members of this reference group each have high level qualifications and/or experience in Australian Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait islander cultural heritage. The purpose of the group is to provide advice as needed to the President and the Executive Committee on any issues that arise. Issues may relate to specific sites as in the case of Indigenous issues in World Heritage Monitoring Missions or ‘framework’ issues as in the case of preparing submission on legislation reform. This reference group does not hold regular meetings, but is called into action as issues arise.

Australia ICOMOS also has a Statement on Indigenous Cultural Heritage.