ANZ Joint Cultural Heritage Risk Preparedness Working Group

The ANZ (Australia & New Zealand) Joint Cultural Heritage Risk Preparedness Working Group was initially formed as a Working Group (it became an Australia ICOMOS National Scientific Committee in November 2020) to assist Australia ICOMOS and ICOMOS New Zealand in:

  • Promoting the protection of cultural heritage in times of disaster (both natural or human made, fast or slow onset)
  • Promoting cooperation with government, emergency services and civil defence in relation to the inclusion of cultural heritage in emergency plans at local, regional, state and national levels
  • Building the capacity of heritage professionals in disaster risk management planning and emergency response for cultural heritage
  • Establishing a network of professionals that can respond responsibly to emergencies as they arise

The members of this Working Group (before it became a National Scientific Committee) were:

Australia ICOMOS members

Convenor: Catherine Forbes (email Catherine)
EC Representative: Flavia Kiperman
Tanya Park
Robyn Riddett
Ania Kotarba-Morley

ICOMOS New Zealand members

ICOMOS.NZ EC Representative: Amanda Ohs
ICOMOS.NZ EC Member: Chessa Stevens
Vanessa Tanner
Fiona Wykes
Andrew Marriott
Carol-Lynne Kerrigan

Affiliate members (non-ICOMOS members with specialist expertise)

Paul Connett (Engineer, Australia)
Ram Singh (Engineer, Australia)
Win Clarke (Engineer, New Zealand)
Lynn Campbell (Conservator, New Zealand)
Helen McCracken (Anthropologist, New Zealand)
Dolapo (Dolas) Fakuade (History, sociology, emergency management, New Zealand)