ISC20C – Twentieth Century

International Scientific Committee on 20th Century Heritage

The ICOMOS 20th Century Heritage International Scientific Committee recognises the work and interest of other international non-government and government organisations working and focused on the identification and conservation of the heritage of the twentieth century. In particular, the work of DOCOMOMO International, TICCCIH and the UIA is acknowledged.

The Committee’s scope of interest, aims, objectives and proposed work plan seek to augment and align the roles and responsibilities of these organizations and where appropriate develop partnerships to achieve the mutual objectives of the recognition, identification and conservation of the heritage of the 20th century.

As the principle international conservation non-government organization, ICOMOS International and its member chapters have a responsibility to participate in the conservation of the legacy of the previous century.

The broad network of member nations, the organisation’s multidisciplinary nature and its role in world heritage management provides an opportunity to encompass periods, typologies and issues not included in the more specific remits of other specialist organizations.

The scope of the Committee’s work is currently defined by time – the period 1900-1999. This may shift over time as experience, knowledge and skills in the conserving of places from the 20th century are developed and mainstreamed. Therefore, the work of the Committee may need to be redefined in the future to concentrate on the heritage of the recent past.

Australian Members

  • Ms Sheridan Burke (ISC20C President) – Expert
    Australian voting member
  • Ass Prof David Jones – Expert
  • Ms Helen Lardner – Expert
  • Ms Susan Macdonald (Vice President for World Heritage) – Expert

Visit the ISC20C website.

Download Burra Charter & Practice Notes | DOWNLOAD CONSERVATION PLAN | Photo Credits